February 20, 2009


On the heels of their previous compilation that excavated the contents of Daft Punk’s crates, Rapster Records brings forth volume two–Protected: Massive Samples–a collection of the original sample sources that constituted Massive Attack’s Blue Lines. 

It includes the well-trodden suspects: James Brown (“Never Can Say Goodbye”) and Isaac Hayes (“Ike´s Mood”). Chaka Khan, The Blackbyrds and William De Vaughn also make an appearance. But the compilation’s true find is Lewin Bones Lock’s “5 Man Army Dub,” the reggae blast that buoys Blue Lines burner, “5 Man Army.” If you’re keeping score at home, the drums used on “5 Man Army,” come from Al Green’s “I’m Glad You’re Mine”–also found on the Protected comp and on the Notorious B.I.G.’s posthumously released “Dead Wrong.”

It’s trite to tell you that “5 Man Army Dub” sounds infinitely better high, but then again, it’s also true. 

Amazon: V/A-Protected: Massive Attack Samples Collection


MP3: Lewin Bones Lock-“5 Man Army Dub” (Left-Click)
MP3: Massive Attack-“5 Man Army”

We rely on your support to keep POW alive. Please take a second to donate on Patreon!