January 6, 2010


Whether you’re a hip-hop head baffled why this blog focuses so much on bass music (hint: it’s due to house music maharajah DJ Pauly D) or whether you’re so cool that you haven’t listened to music with words since Bush knocked down the Twin Towers (Jadakiss is never wrong), Mary Anne Hobbs’ highlights of 2009 will surely find some appeal for you. During the program, she claims to search SoundCloud, Myspace, and other outlets for up to 10 hours a day to discover new music, which means that every new bass artist you see in Fact, RA, or here, has probably been broken first by the BBC1 Xtra DJ with the best ears in the business. Her year-end highlight show is the evidence, with tracks including Joker, the entire Low End Theory crew, Silkie, Dam-Funk, Rudi Zygadlo, and about two dozen others. Track list below the jump. Like Highlights magazine and the Wu-Tang, Mary Anne Hobbs is for the children.

ZIP: Mary Anne Hobbs 12. 24. 09 – Highlights of 2009 (Left-Click)

Joker & Ginz — Purple City [Kapsize]
Nosaj Thing — Coat Of Arms [Alphapup]
Bullion — Rude Effort (Paul White Mix) [One Handed Music]
Exile — Your Summer Song (from the LP Exile Radio) [Plug Research]
Samiyam — Bricks [Dubplate]
Architeq — Sleeping Bear Lament (TAKE mix) [Planet Mu]
Blue Daisy — Strings Detached [Black Acre]
Tokimonsta — Stigmatising Sex [Dubplate]
FaltyDL — Mother Beam [Planet Mu]
Silkie vs. Mizz Beats — Purple Love (from the LP City Limits Vol1) [Deep Medi]
Shortstuff — Stuff [Ramp]
Floating Points — Vacuum Boogie [Eglo]
sbrkt — oneweekover [Dubplate]
Dorian Concept — Trilingual Dance Sexperience [Affine]
Ramadanman & Appleblim — Justify (Will Saul & Mike Monday remix) [Applepips]
Mount Kimbie — Serged [Hotflush]
Jahbitat & Daniel Gutierrez — Tonada Del Tormento (from the LP Echo Expansion) [Porter Records]
Greena — Tenzado [Applepips]
Airhead & James Blake — Pembroke [Dubplate]
Dam-Funk — On & On [Stones Throw]
Al’Tourettes — Sunken [Applepips]
Eleven Tigers — Stable Face [Soul Motive]
Ikonika — Fish [Hyperdub]
Joy Orbison — Hyph Mngo [Hotflush]
Intra: Mental — Tramma [Non Plus]
Deadboy — If You Want Me [Numbers]
Rudi Zygadlo — Missa Per Brevis [Planet Mu]
Cooly G — Dis Boy (Scratcha DVA’s Hi Emotions mix) [Dubplate]
Roska — Concrete Jungle [Dubplate]
Millie — Ever Since You Came Down [Daphne]
Flying Lotus & Jose James — Black Magic [Dubplate]

We rely on your support to keep POW alive. Please take a second to donate on Patreon!