October 14, 2014

FNB006 cover

Aaron Frank prefers turning up to looking at pictures on the wall.

As the state of the site has reflected, it’s been a stressful transition period for us here at Passion of the Weiss in recent weeks. Luckily, our patience and hard work has paid off, and together with his design team, Jeff has restructured a beautiful new platform for us writers and mixers to feature our work. In response to my time away, I’ve crafted a special extended mix of the Frank N Beats series to compensate loyal readers.

This new mix is more in line with the early entries in the series, which featured a variety of hip-hop, experimental music and straight-up techno. On the hip-hop side, I’ve included new singles from Juicy J, A$AP Rocky, Vince Staples and Travi$ Scott, all of which have been recent staples among our staff. But on the electronic side, I’ve transitioned into Thom Yorke, Aphex Twin, Floating Points and Caribou all by way of Flying Lotus’ spiritual anthem “Never Catch Me,” which is slowly turning out to be the soundtrack of the season.

Also included are tracks from lesser-known artists like Kaytranada, Moiré and James Blake collaborator Airhead, as well as recent Stones Throw signee Silk Rhodes. Don’t let the length fool you though. The time away only led to more quality control, so every track has been carefully selected and sequenced, hopefully making this one of the more memorable mixes in the series.

Download link: https://soundcloud.com/passionweiss/frank-n-beats-006

1. Kode9 & The Spaceape – “Pictures On The Wall”
2. Suicideyear – “Remembrance”
3. Arca – “Thievery”
4. FKA Twigs – “Numbers”
5. Vince Staples – “Blue Suede”
6. Juicy J feat. Future & A$AP Ferg – “Ice”
7. A$AP Rocky – “Multiply”
8. Travi$ Scott feat. Young Thug – “Skyfall”
9. Flying Lotus feat. Kendrick Lamar – “Never Catch Me”
10. Thom Yorke – “A Brain In A Bottle”
11. Moire – “Dali House”
12. Caribou – “Our Love” (Daphni Remix)
13. Les Sins – “Bother”
14. Aphex Twin – “minipops 67 [120.2][source field mix]”
15. Kaytranada feat. Shay Lia – “Leave Me Alone”
16. Airhead – “October”
17. Floating Points – “Sparkling Controversy”
18. Actress – “Xoul”
19. Silk Rhodes – “Pain”
We rely on your support to keep POW alive. Please take a second to donate on Patreon!